This is my favourite month of the year, Autumn is truly around, leaves on trees are changing colours, the air is full of magic and nature is preparing for the big sleep.

October is by far an exciting month as it is of course the month of Samhain or Halloween.
Halloween is very special to my heart as it was on an Halloween night that I kissed my beloved for the first time (and he did not turn into a toad) 24 years ago 😀

Another festival which is close to my heart is the Mexican Day of the Dead which is a festival honouring our dear departed and ancestors. It is a joyful celebration of the dead, to remember those who went before us.

It is said that the veil between our world and the spirit world is at its thinnest around Samhain.  With that in mind, I have designed a little spread to reach our ancestors.

Day-of-the-dead-spread
1 – Advice from my ancestors (here take it as what you need to know or to do to improve your life)
2 – What I need to banish, to let go, to remove from my life, what is no longer serving me.
3 – What I need to embrace, to welcome in my life, to attract to me.
4 – Ancestral traits I need to tap into.
What qualities from my ancestors (immediate ancestors or from many generations ago, in other words, your tribe),  I may want to use.
5 – What is holding me back? What is not working, not good for me etc….
6 – Blessings from my ancestors. What is the message from beyond the veil from your ancestors to you. What is essential to acknowledge and to be aware of.

I did a reading using this spread with very surprising results, which I am still meditating on.

Have a blessed Samhain and enjoy the Day of the Dead.
I know I will 🙂

Oephebia and the kitty monsters

Leave a Reply

